Sinclair Lewis

1885- 1951

American Author


Sinclair Lewis was born in San Centre, Minnesota on February 7, 1885. He went to Oberlin Academy and Yale University

As the first American to win the Nobel Prize for literature (1930), Sinclair Lewis holds a unique position in the pantheon of literary greats. Though he began his career as a reporter, he eventually turned to fiction. Main Street and Babbitt brought him significant recognition (1920 and 1922, respectively) but Lewis refused the Pulitzer Prize for his novel Arrowsmith in 1925.

Elmer Gantry (1927) is regarded as Lewis' finest work. In all, Lewis wrote nearly two dozen novels and three plays.

The following are his books:
1912: Hike and the Aeroplane (juvenile, as Tom Graham)
1914: Our Mr. Wrenn: The Romantic Adventures of a Gentle Man
1915: The Trail of the Hawk: A Comedy of the Seriousness of Life
1917: The Job: An American Novel
1917: The Innocents: A Story for Lovers
1919: Free Air
Serialized in The Saturday Evening Post, May 31, June 7, June 14 and 21, 1919
1920: Main Street: The Story of Carol Kennicott
1922: Babbitt
Excerpted in Hearst's International, October 1922
1925: Arrowsmith
1926: Mantrap
Serialized in Collier's, February 20, March 20 and April 24, 1926
1927: Elmer Gantry
1928: The Man Who Knew Coolidge: Being the Soul of Lowell Schmaltz, Constructive and Nordic Citizen''
1929: Dodsworth
1933: Ann Vickers
Serialized in Redbook, August, November and December 1932
1934: Work of Art
1935: It Can't Happen Here
1938: The Prodigal Parents
1940: Bethel Merriday
1943: Gideon Planish
1943: Harri serialized in Good Housekeeping, August, September 1943 ISBN 978-1523653508
1945: Cass Timberlane: A Novel of Husbands and Wives
Appeared in Cosmopolitan, July 1945.
1947: Kingsblood Royal
1949: The God-Seeker
1951: World So Wide (posthumous


Sinclair Lewis: Rebel from Main Street